Summer in Geneva! // Life at the UN

So it’s been ages since I posted but I feel like it would be a shame to let my blog die, seeing as I put in quite a lot of effort into making it look nice. I also thought that my blog would be a useful channel for me to document my summer experiences – I am thrilled to announce that I am currently interning at the Permanent Mission of Singapore to the United Nations in Geneva, something I’ve always aspired towards. I’ve been pretty interested in working for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Singapore (MFA) since my junior college (sixth-form) days. However it wasn’t until recently that I read up a lot more about the job scope of a Foreign Service Officer and adequately prepared myself for the interviews that I realised the amount of commitment and effort involved in working for the MFA!

My time in Geneva will be divided between the Permanent Mission of Singapore (which is an amazing, gleaming building off the side of a highway) and the Palais des Nations at the UN. My internship coincides with the 32nd session of the Human Rights Council (HRC) from 13 June to 1 July, which will focus on, among other things, women’s rights and the role of sport in promoting human rights for all. The HRC will see contributions from independent experts on the human rights situations in countries including the Central African Republic, Côte d’Ivoire, Ukraine in Burundi. Of particular interest to me, and undoubtedly for the Permanent Mission of Singapore, will be the consideration of the outcome of the Universal Periodic Review of Singapore, following recommendations given to Singapore on reviewing its human rights policies by other states earlier this year in January.

IMG_2602
The Permanent Mission of Singapore at Châtelaine

I only just started this Monday but so far have had quite a lot to do, attending various meetings at the UN and typing up file notes! It’s all really interesting and at the risk of sounding cliché I would argue that there hasn’t been a dull moment so far. It was quite overwhelming for me to first set foot in the Palais des Nations, seeing all these incredibly important and busy people milling about and feeling inferior as an intern in comparison. Happily, I have also met interns to other Permanent Missions, and so far everyone I have met has been friendly and inclusive. As a global international organisation, it’s refreshing also to hear a variety of languages being spoken constantly at the UN, and I am constantly awestruck by the ability of simultaneous interpreters to accurately translate what is being said in real time, on the spot!

Meanwhile, I am also living in Carouge, this really cute part of town that used to be a Sardinian village, which offers a breathtaking view of the mountains in the background. Anyway, I’ll be posting regular updates about the HRC over the next three weeks, and will (hopefully) revive my Twitter feed (@yuxinlovestrees)! So if you’re interested in following my journey in Geneva then please watch this space 🙂


Leave a comment